Tags

, , , , , ,

Coroline – 

First off, I’m not going to apologize for taking so long to respond. There’s a perfectly logical explanation for why I have: I didn’t want I didn’t feel like it. Petulant, eh? But you know me. If there’s some complaining to do, I really can’t resist. 

I’m reading through your letter again, trying to figure out which points to talk about first – or, on the other hand, I could completely ignore all the questions and just talk about the weather here (it’s raining, by the way) but I have a nasty suspicion I’d be in for it when we got back, so I’ll try to be nice.

In some ways, Dunland has gone by in one massive, confusing blur. I’m seeing the clans in a way I hadn’t when I came north – well, considering I was coming from a long time with the Rohirrim, that’s hardly surprising. But I suppose they’re people just like everyone else is – families, workers, warriors, suspicion, kindness, tempers, loyalty… aye, now I’m rambling.  We’ve offered our help as best we can, with various things, and most of the time it’s paid off. We’ve made it to the edge of Dunland, at any rate, and all things considered that’s really no mean accomplishment.

The Gravenwood – that’s what they call this place we’re camped at right now, and it lives up to its name. I’ve been here before, and coming into it the second time was oddly familiar. I liked it, to some extent – it has a lot of secrets, stories buried beneath centuries of fear. I’ll admit I was intrigued. Yes, was. At the moment… well, let’s say some things have happened, and watching the scenery is the last thing on my mind.

All right, I can hear you grinding your teeth, so I’ll elaborate – a little. We’ve been making camp with a band of Riders from the Mark – Rohan, to you – who came here looking for a companion of theirs taken by orcs. Their captain is called Uthwald, and he’s an arrogant sort of fellow, though no more than most Rohirrim, really. Once we’d gotten his men to stop pointing their spears at us, our two parties got along rather well, actually. Turns out that was rather a good thing, because what came next wasn’t. There was a creature out there – a wraith, Atan and some others called it – and it was evil. Not just bad, Coroline, but evil. I’ve never felt like that before. Swords weren’t enough. We had to kill it with fire, and light – and we did kill it, but quite honestly I couldn’t get any satisfaction out of it. I wasn’t hurt much except when the damn thing exploded and I landed on my own dagger but a few others were – Wynne, and Gisala. Thragan thinks they’ll pull through, but it seems like the wraith affected them more than just physically… I can’t quite wrap my head around it.

I’m trying not to think about it, actually, because I’m beginning to wonder if I knew what I signed on for. As I told Atan, if something’s trying to kill me, I like for it to take a personal interest. That makes sense, right? I don’t like having doubts. I think it does.

On the bright side, we’ll be moving soon, into the Gap of Rohan. The suspense is killing me, because I don’t think I’ll be quite so out of my depth there. I know these people. I have good memories of Rohan. After all, where do you think I got my suspicious nature from? (all right, I was mostly born with it… but still)

Hope things aren’t too dull without us in Bree. Good to know you’re keeping Ben company, but just so you’re aware, Atan is worried that you might find him desirable” like him a bit more than you should. I told him you have more sense than that. I think you do. Mostly. Just keep that in mind.

And it’s still raining.

Mathdor

P.S. Things are fine with Alainn. I think you were right. No, I’m not saying it again.